Twitter Facebook Google Plus Linkedin

South Sudan overview

South Sudan is a country in Africa and his population is 8,260,490 inhabitants over an area of 644,329 km2. South Sudan capital is Juba and his main time zone (in capitale) is Africa/Juba.

South Sudan iso 3166 codes are SS (alpha-2), SSD (alpha-3) and 728 (numeric). South Sudan FIPS code is OD. South Sudan currency is Pound and the dialing code is +211.

South Sudan postal format is : 99999 (Postal code).

Administrative divisions in South Sudan : 10 States, 78 Counties.

Largest cities in South Sudan are : Juba, Malakal, Wau, Pajok, Yei, Yambio, Aweil, Gogrial, Rumbek, Bor.

Local time :
Local time
Capital :
Population :
Area :
644,329 km2
Iso code :
dialing code :
Currency :

Largest cities in South Sudan

CountrySouth Sudan
Iso codesSS / SSD / 728
Time zoneAfrica/Juba
Total area644,329 km2
Dialing code+211
Internet tld
Postal format 99999
GDP12 billion dollars
GDP per capita1,425 dollars
Neighbours countriesDemocratic Republic of the Congo, Central African Republic, Ethiopia, Kenya, Sudan, Uganda.

South Sudan administrative levels

Administrative nameAdmin levelTotal
States Level 110
Counties Level 278

Spoken languages in South Sudan

Airports near Juba (Capital of South Sudan)

Juba International AirportJuba3 km
Wau AirportWau512 km
Malakal AirportMalakal524 km
Paloich Airport, HeliportHigleig640 km

South Sudan first administrative level

Largest cities in South Sudan

CityPopulationDistance from Juba
Juba300,0000 km
Malakal160,765521 km
Wau127,384508 km
Pajok49,000148 km
Yei40,382131 km
Yambio40,382355 km
Aweil38,745635 km
Gogrial38,572562 km
Rumbek32,083303 km
Bor26,782151 km
Torit20,048120 km
Tonj17,338419 km
Marīdi14,224234 km
Leer10,486416 km
Tambura9,483464 km
Bentiu7,653525 km
Kapoeta7,042223 km
Raja3,700766 km
Kajok0552 km

Photos under copyright -