Twitter Facebook Google Plus Linkedin

Mauritania overview

Mauritania is a country in Africa and his population is 3,205,060 inhabitants over an area of 1,030,700 km2. Mauritania capital is Nouakchott and his main time zone (in capitale) is Africa/Nouakchott.

Mauritania iso 3166 codes are MR (alpha-2), MRT (alpha-3) and 478 (numeric). Mauritania FIPS code is MR. Mauritania currency is Ouguiya and the dialing code is +222.

Mauritania postal format is : - ( ).

Administrative divisions in Mauritania : 12 Wilayas (Regions), 1 Capital district, 53 Moughataa (Departments).

Largest cities in Mauritania are : Nouakchott, Nouadhibou, Néma, Kaédi, Rosso, Kiffa, Zouerate, Atar, Tékane, Sélibaby.

Local time :
Local time
Capital :
Population :
Area :
1,030,700 km2
Iso code :
dialing code :
Currency :

Largest cities in Mauritania

Iso codesMR / MRT / 478
Time zoneAfrica/Nouakchott
Total area1,030,700 km2
Dialing code+222
Postal format -
GDP4.18 billion dollars
GDP per capita1,305 dollars
Neighbours countriesAlgeria, Western Sahara, Mali, Senegal.

Mauritania administrative levels

Administrative nameAdmin levelTotal
Wilayas (Regions) Level 112
Capital district Level 11
Moughataa (Departments) Level 253

Spoken languages in Mauritania

Airports near Nouakchott (Capital of Mauritania)

Nouakchott International AirportNouakchott3 km
Nouadhibou International AirportNouadhibou336 km
Atar International AirportAtar410 km

Mauritania first administrative level

Largest cities in Mauritania

CityPopulationDistance from Nouakchott
Nouakchott661,4000 km
Nouadhibou72,337337 km
Néma60,000941 km
Kaédi55,374340 km
Rosso48,922176 km
Kiffa40,281513 km
Zouerate38,000634 km
Atar24,021410 km
Tékane22,041177 km
Sélibaby18,424520 km
Aleg15,211248 km
Aioun12,635694 km
Akjoujt11,500250 km
Tidjikja6,000484 km
Chingueṭṭi4,711463 km
’Elb el Jmel1,500244 km
Barkéwol1,100403 km
Dar Naim06 km
Tevragh Zeina02 km
Arafat04 km

Photos under copyright -